The M. Scott Sullivan Leadership Award is awarded in memory of Scott Sullivan, who served the APTA Virginia in various leadership positions, was an associate professor at the Medical College of Virginia, a devoted family man, and active in his community up until the time of his passing in 1998. This award was first granted posthumously to Scott Sullivan in April 1999.

The M. Scott Sullivan Leadership Award honors PTs and PTAs who have demonstrated outstanding leadership in their service to APTA Virginia.

Any physical therapist or physical therapist assistant member not currently serving on the APTA Virginia Board of Directors or Awards Committee.

Selection Process:
Nominations must be submitted to the Nominating Committee Chair by February 1. The Awards Committee will make the final selection with the approval of the Board of Directors.

Award Minimum:
The recipient will receive at a minimum a certificate, which will be presented at the APTA Virginia Annual Business Meeting.

Additional Resources:

For questions regarding the nomination process or the awards, please contact

Award History:
2015 - Megan Bureau, PT, DPT
2016 - N/A
2017 - N/A
2018 - N/A
2019 - N/A
2020 - N/A
2021 - George Maihafer
2022 - Margaret Nguyen, PTA